DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY

The Department of Chemistry was established in the year 1967. The department has well qualified, experienced and dedicated faculty. At present there are 2 teaching faculty and one non- teaching staff. The Department has spacious laboratory for all kinds of experiments along with one instrumentation room and store room. Both laboratories are well equipped with scientific instruments. The Department has implemented CBCS (Choice based credit system) scheme for V & VI Semester and NEP scheme from 2021-22 for I to IV semester, as per UGC regulations. Department is involved in extension activities. Our students have been placed in various sectors.

SCOPE OF THE SUBJECT AFTER GRADUATION:

Students may pursue masters and PhD programmes in the following programmes at central universities or state universities: Organic chemistry, Inorganic chemistry, Physical chemistry, Industrial chemistry, Biochemistry, Medicinal chemistry, Food science, Forensic science, Material science, Nano Science research and etc. Students have job opportunities in various sectors like work as teacher; can work as analytical chemist in industry and biochemist in laboratories.

PROGRAMMES OFFERED BY THE DEPARTMENT: Combination with chemistry as a subject

Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics (CBCS)

Chemistry, Botany, Zoology (CBCS)

Physics, Chemistry (NEP)

Chemistry, Botany (NEP)

Chemistry, Zoology (NEP)

Chemistry, Mathematics (NEP)

TEACHERS WHO SERVED IN THE DEPARTMENT SINCE ITS COMMENCEMENT ARE-

- 1. Prof: S. I Patil
- 2. Prof. L S Hazare
- 3. Prof. B G Malipatil
- 4. Prof. S Vijayakumar
- 5. Prof: Nirmala Bennur
- 6. Dr.Mallikarjun Kote
- 7. Dr. Basavaraj Hiremath